Count me in

How would we react if we discovered we had to start all over again, that everything we thought of as our lives was gone, wiped out, nada, never to be experienced again in quite that way?
Living as we do in our discrete and separate states, attached to our existence in a largely superficial way, this loss of place, of belonging, would be nothing short of devastating. With everything gone, no strong point of reference, no social platform upon which to stand with everyone else and be counted, most humans would likely fold if they were left on their own.
Animals and other creatures, however, that regularly spend much of their time communing with the Ineffable, would suffer greatly from shock, but drinking as they do from Life’s common pool, they would quickly recognise that although everything in the world had been shot to Hell, their spark of consciousness had not been snuffed out, they were alive, and that would be good enough for them.
People who have suffered severe physical and mental illness or chronic disease know the blank space that comes upon them only too well, and not ‘belonging’ is the single most serious condition after the illness itself. Often sickness and dissociation are taken as one, which makes the chance of recovery very difficult.
Being part of a tight, loving community is the best way to overcome those odds, and frequently has brought about miracles of recovery.

Comments

  1. Losing everything can be cleansing, too. In one year I lost my mother, my husband and my son. I remember wondering who I could tell all the things you tell to the people you love. No one.
    I felt like I was alone, free, floating in the universe, looking at everything as though from an arms-length away, or a 10-foot pole. And losing all that I loved made all that I had and didn’t love much much more insignificant.
    It certainly helps to increase self-sufficiency and to stop one from being overly-dependent on the opinions, habits and indeed help of anyone else. Non-attachment.
    Rather radical and definitely painful at the time, for sure, but, years later now, I feel that the experience helped me to withstand the “slings and arrows of outrageous fortune” much more easily, turned me from a pessimist to an optimist and I sure don’t spend time crying just because I’m alone.
    Namaste

Leave a Reply

